My Son

I look at you and it is impossible to explain the love I have for you. Before you, I thought I knew what true love was.

I was wrong.

You have shown me a whole new world and a deeper love than I ever thought possible. I don’t deserve you, but I am grateful to God for choosing and entrusting me to be your mother.

I am blessed.

You are amazing. You are perfect. You were a beautiful surprise.

And though we have a journey ahead of us, some steps I fear, it will be the most beautiful journey ever taken. I am beyond blessed to trod this road with you.

You amaze me everyday. Even when I wonder if you will ever reach a new milestone, you show me and say to me, without words, “No worries, mommy. I will do things in my own time.” I had patience before but you have given me much more. You are teaching me to be a better person, a better mother. Though I know I am not perfect and I fail…I will do my utmost best because you are worth it.

You are worth the sleepless nights, the tantrums, the screaming fits…the messy home. You are worth it all.

One Year Ago

One year ago I awaited the arrival of a little wonder
One year ago I listened, intently, to a heart, beating strong like thunder
One year ago I experienced pure, true, untainted joy
One year ago I fell in love, as I stared into the eyes of my little boy
One year ago I thought I knew what true love meant
One year ago I finally knew, by someone who was heaven sent
One year ago I didn’t know how fast the months would go
But, here I am, one year from now, blessed to watch him grow.

Leave a Reply

